Life gets better when you remember to live.

Life is so crazy. We think we have everything figured out, then the most random things occur to completely shift you away from the path you were going down so confidently. Like one day you’re on top of the world, as happy as can be. Then, it’s all gone.

There’s people that come into your life that you thought would stay forever, but they don’t. They bring so much happiness into your life and within a matter of moments, they’re gone. And there’s nothing you can do about that. You can’t rewind and you can’t make them stay. You can only appreciate what they left you with and try your best to understand that maybe they were in your life to help shape you into the person you were meant to be, and only that. Maybe they weren’t supposed to have a permanent place in your life, and that’s okay.

There’s so many things you plan for that never happen. Your vision of the life you wanted to live can be redesigned so suddenly. That feeling of uncertainty is enough to make you wish you were a child again, watching the Lion King while grandma was in the kitchen making your favorite thing for dinner. But as much as we yearn for that sense of stability, we can’t just snap our fingers and make it happen. We have to readjust.

I think that’s what makes things worse. That we couldn’t picture our lives going in any other direction than the one we’ve been planning and hoping for. It drives us crazy: the lack of control we have over our own lives, or at least the feeling of not being in control.

Slowly but surely I am discovering that there’s no guarantee that the things and people I love are going to stay as long as I hoped for. I am learning that there’s some things that are out of my hands. And as much as I pour my heart and soul into making things better, there’s some things I cannot change. Despite my efforts there’s things I can’t make happen. Not because of my lack of motivation, strength or power, but because there’s so many underlying factors that are not going to let me have my way. And that’s okay.

Control what you can. Let go of the things that you can’t. Take things for what they are, and make the most of it. Life get’s better when you stop trying to stick strictly to a plan and just start living for your everyday.

Life gets better when you remember to live.

Leave a Reply

